December 29, 2004

Honorable Members Board of Directors Puget Sound Clean Air Agency

Ladies and Gentlemen:

We, the members of the Climate Protection Advisory Committee convened by the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency in January 2004, are pleased to present you with our final report and recommendations. We are members of organizations with various and different experiences, responsibilities, and roles regarding climate change. Our diversity has been our strength as we came together in good faith seeking to provide direction on effective ways to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the Puget Sound region, as you charged us to do.

We have come to a consensus on the need for action and have recommended several critical priorities and key actions needed to put the region on the path to reducing greenhouse gas emissions and contributing to climate stabilization. Unless noted in the report, we support the recommendations presented here and will, each in our own way and within the relevancy, expertise, and decision-making of our own organization, continue to participate constructively in their development and implementation. We urge that the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency continue its important leadership on this issue, informed and guided by these recommendations.

We want to gratefully acknowledge and express our appreciation for the support we received in our efforts from the many volunteers who participated as Technical Working Group members and the Agency's staff. We thank you for the opportunity to participate and to contribute to this effort, and we appreciate your leadership and vision on this vitally important issue.

Sincerely, Climate Protection Advisory Committee Members

ILC C.I 2

Rod Brandon, King County EO/PSDM

Stephen Gerritson, Commuter Challenge

Karin Bulova, Snohomish County PUD*

David Goldberg, AIA, Mithun Architects + Designers + Planners

KC Golden, Climate Solutions

John Cabaniss, Association of International Automobile Manufacturers**

Kim Drury, City of Seattle

Gene Duvernoy, Cascade Land Conservancy

CPAC Co-chair, Wayne Grotheer, Port of Seattle

e

Frank Holmes, Western State Petroleum Association

ake 4

CPAC Co-chair, Jake Fey, WSU Coop-Extension Energy Program

Diana H - Y

Diana Gale, Cascade Center for Public Service

Carol Jolly, Washington State Governor's Office

* Snohomish County PUD is reserving its signature until it has completed its own internal process to consider the recommendations.

** John Cabaniss was an active participant in the CPAC process but chose not to sign the report due to current/potential litigation regarding California Motor Vehicle Standards.

Ken Johnson, Weyerhaeuser Company

Robert Pregulman, Washington PIRG

Bill Kidd, BP

Chuck Kleeberg, Pierce County Planning and Land Services

Bill LaBorde, NW Energy Coalition

1oura

Mohy Koho. vts

Roby Roberts, PPM Energy, Inc.

Steve Secrist, Puget Sound Energy

Kelly McGourty, Puget Sound Regional Council

Gary Smith, Small Business Owner

a OWS

Dave Moore, The Boeing Company

Stan Price, NW Energy Efficiency Council

B. Steens

Lucy Steers, League of Women Voters, Growth Management Chair