Wildfire and Wood Smoke Resources

WILD FIRES

Each year, wildfires burn as many as 7 million acres of federal, state, tribal and private land.  Smoke from these fires, particularly the fine particles released during combustion, can cause serious health problems. To protect the public from this threat, air pollution control, public health, and other federal, state and local agencies have developed resources to inform citizens where wildfires are burning and how smoke from those fires can affect them. A selection of these resources is included here.

FEDERAL AND NATIONAL RESOURCES

 

U.S. EPA
www.epa.gov
www.airnow.gov

Smoke Advisories and Forecasts

Fires and Your Health

Wildfire Smoke: A Guide for Public Health Officials (Revised May 2016)

How Smoke From Fires Can Affect Your Health

Particle Pollution and Your Health
 

American Lung Association
1-800-LUNGUSA

Wildfires

How Wildfires Affect Our Health
 

STATE AND LOCAL RESOURCES

 

ARIZONA

 

Pima County Department of Environmental Quality
Beth Gorman (beth.gorman@pima.gov)
(520) 724-7446

 

Is It Smoky Outside?

 

 

 

CALIFORNIA

 

California Smoke Information
Ryan Bauer, Air Resources Advisor
(rbauer@fs.fed.us)

 

This site is a voluntary effort by city, county, state, tribal and federal agencies to coordinate and aggregate information for California communities affected by wildfire smoke.

North Coast Unified Air Quality Management District
Heather Bitner (hbitner@ncuaqmd.org)
(707) 443-3093 x 110

 

North Coast Unified AQMD Wildfire Smoke Information - Advisories and Alerts

Placer County Air Pollution Control District
Ann Hobbs (ahobbs@placer.ca.gov)
(530) 745-2327

 

Smoke and Wildfires: Current Air Quality for Placer County

Recommendations for Outdoor Physical Activity During Smoky Conditions

Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District
Jamie Arno (jarno@airquality.org)
Lori Kobza (lkobza@airquality.org)
(916) 874-4811

 

Spare the Air Website

Dealing with Smoke: Tips for Children

Dealing with Smoke: Tips for Residents

Dealing with Smoke: Tips for Seniors

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District
Lyn Hoffman (hoffmanl@sbcapcd.org)
(805) 961-8819

 

Wildfire Smoke and Health

County of Siskiyou, California

Wild Fires - Useful Information

Health Information for Smoke Impacts

Recommendations for Outside Physical Activity During Smoky Conditions
 

South Coast Air Pollution Control District
Tina Cox (tcox@aqmd.org)
(909) 396-3233

 

Fire Safety Alert - Tips for Children

Fire Safety Alert - Tips for Residents

Fire Safety Alert - Tips for Seniors

 

MONTANA

 

Montana Department of Environmental Quality
Kristen Martin (kmartin@mt.gov)
(406) 444-0283

 

Montana DEQ Today's Air Website

Recommendations for Outdoor Activites Based on Air Quality for Schools and Child Care

NEVADA  

Clark County Department of Air Quality
Mike Sword (sword@clarkcountyNV.gov)
(702) 455-1615

 

Air Quality Advisory News Release for Ozone and Smoke Due to Wildfires

Washoe County Health District
Julie Hunter (jdhunter@washoecounty.us)
(775) 784-7210

 

Be Smoke Smart
OREGON  
Oregon Smoke Information

This site is an effort by many city, county, tribal, state and federal agencies to coordinate and aggregate information for Oregon communities affected by wildfire smoke.  The information is posted here directly by the agencies; volunteers maintain the webpage.
 

WASHINGTON  
Washington Smoke Information

This site is an effort by county, state and Federal agencies and Indian Tribes to coordinate and aggregate information for Washington communities affected by smoke from wildland fires.  The information is posted here directly by the agencies; volunteers maintain the webpage.
 

WOOD SMOKE

Although smoke from buring wood may smell good, it is not good for the environment or the public's health.  Smoke from wood-burning appliances pose serious health risks when the device is not properly installed or wood is not properly burned.  Weather conditions, especially during the winter months, can also contribute to health risks by trapping wood smoke near the ground which elevates particle levels in the air we breathe and causes exceedances of the federally-mandated standards for particulate matter. To educate consumers about what they can do to protect their health and their environment, federal, state and local air agencies have developed useful resources about how to burn wood efficiently and effectively.  A selection of these resources is included here.

FEDERAL RESOURCES  

U.S. EPA Burn Wise Program
Larry Brockman (brockman.larry@epa.gov)
(919) 541-5398

 

Burn Wise

Small Entity Compliance Guide for "Standards of Performance for New Residential Wood Heaters, New Residential Hydronic Heaters and Forced-Air Furnaces"

STATE AND LOCAL RESOURCES  
CALIFORNIA  

Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District
Jamie Arno (jarno@airquality.org)
Lori Kobza (lkobza@airquality.org)
(916) 874-4811
 

Burn Check Website

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District
Lyn Hoffman (hoffmanl@sbcapcd.org)
(805) 961-8819
 

Learn Before You Burn
CONNECTICUT  

Connecticut Departmet of Energy

and Environment

Anne Gobin

(anne.gobin@ct.gov)

(860) 424-3363

Open Burning

Wood Stoves

Wood Burning

MAINE  

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Marc Cone (marc.a.cone@maine.gov)
(207) 287-1932
Julie Churchill, Small Business Ombudsman (julie.m.churchill@maine.gov)
(800) 789-9802

 

New Federal U.S. EPA Regulations for Residential Wood and Pellet Stoves

New Federal U.S. EPA Regulations for Wood-Fired Hydronic Heaters and Forced-Air Furnaces

New Federal U.S. EPA Regulations Affecting Wood Pellet Manufacturers

NEVADA  

Washoe County Health District
Julie Hunter (jdhunter@washoecounty.us)
(775) 784-7210
 

What You Need to Know About Installing Wood, Pellet, and Gas Stoves in Washoe County

Keep It Clean: Know the Code

WASHINGTON  

Puget Sound Clean Air Agency
Joanne Todd (JoanneT@pscleanair.org)
(206) 343-8800

 

Healthy Options for Wood Heat Website

Wood Smoke: Your Health, Your Wallet and the Law

WISCONSIN  

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Marty Burkholder (martin.burkholder@wisconsin.gov)
(608) 264-8855

 

Outdoor Wood Boilers